Getting To Know Us Part I

Hey guys! I have been researching and contemplating a lot about what kinds of things to write about. I know we can’t have a new song out every single week, so I’m doing my best to learning what to put out there. So for this week and next, I’m going to share more about us. Actually, today I’m going to tell you about myself and Ben will post about himself next week. I think it’s important to give more of a background for you to begin to feel like you know us. If anyone has any suggestions for other things we could write about, please feel free to comment! I’d love to know what YOU want to read or see. So, here goes!

My name is Heather and I am 27 years old. I was born and raised in Northeast Philadelphia, where I still live today. I am the oldest of three [1 brother and 1 sister]. I went to a different school than my siblings, thus not growing super close to them until we were older. I spent 3rd grade all the way through HS in a small private Christian (non-denominational) school. The school was also a church, which we attended on Sundays and Wednesdays. My parents had a toxic marriage that ended in divorce. Though growing up was mostly rough, I have good relationships with them and their current significant others today. I grew up overweight, depressed, angry and with high anxiety. I’ve been working on myself as much as I can, and I really feel I’ve grown the most within the last two to three years. I hope that my friends would describe me as a sensitive, loving friend. I’ve been told that I have been cursed with resting bitch face. However, I’m a nice person, I swear!! Just socially anxious in the beginning.

I don’t really remember where my love for music started. It just sort of feels like it was always there. I remember singing as far back as 4 years old. I always loved to sing. I appreciate most any genre and I’m less of a music SNOB than Ben is. I met [my husband] Ben at school when I was 16. We both love music and he honestly introduced me to most of the best music I listen to now. He is the opposite of my family but his religious upbringing is very similar. I love his quirkiness, his sense of humor, and his sarcasm. We both can get extremely hype and excited and nerdy about things—mostly music. We have similar worldview and no interest in having children. The most important thing is that we communicate and compromise. That’s why we’re still together, and have gotten through a lot of bullshit. Despite his dark sense of humor and love for making fun of me, he is the most loyal and empathetic person I know. And I believe that despite my anger issues and sometimes hyper-sensitivity, I am also an empathetic and compassionate person. We balance and compliment each other well.

I’m sorry if this post was long; I will try to be as brief as possible. I hope you get to know us more and more with each and every blog and song. Come back next week to learn a little about Ben! Happy Sunday!

-Heather